

Special Meeting Agenda CAO Performance Review Committee The Corporation of the City of Brampton

Date: Monday, March 29, 2021

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Location: Council Chambers - 4th Floor, City Hall - Webex Electronic Meeting

Members:

Regional Councillor P. Fortini (Chair) Wards 7 and 8

Mayor Patrick Brown

Regional Councillor R. Santos Wards 1 and 5 Regional Councillor P. Vicente Wards 1 and 5 Wards 2 and 6 Regional Councillor M. Palleschi Regional Councillor M. Medeiros Wards 3 and 4 Wards 9 and 10 Regional Councillor G. Dhillon City Councillor D. Whillans Wards 2 and 6 Wards 3 and 4 City Councillor J. Bowman City Councillor C. Williams Wards 7 and 8 City Councillor H. Singh Wards 9 and 10

NOTICE: In consideration of the current COVID-19 public health orders prohibiting large public gatherings and requiring physical distancing, in-person attendance at Council and Committee meetings will be limited to Members of Council and essential City staff.

For inquiries about this agenda, or to make arrangements for accessibility accommodations for persons attending (some advance notice may be required), please contact:

Peter Fay, City Clerk, Telephone 905.874.2172, TTY 905.874.2130

cityclerksoffice@brampton.ca

Note: Meeting information is also available in alternate formats upon request.

1.	Call to Order
2.	Approval of Agenda
3.	Declarations of Interest under the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act
4.	Minutes
5.	Reports
5.1.	Terms of Reference - CAO Performance Review Committee
	Note: Attached for information is the Council-approved Committee terms of reference.
6.	Councillor Question Period
7.	Public Question Period
	15 Minute Limit (regarding any decision made at this meeting)
8.	Closed Session
8.1.	Open Meeting exception under Section 239 (2) (b) and (d) of the Municipal Act, 2001
	Personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees and, labour relations or employee negotiations
9.	Adjournment

Terms of Reference Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Performance Review Committee

Composition: all Members of Council

Term of Office: Until the end of the 2018-2022 term of Council (November 14, 2022)

Established by: Established by Council Resolution C305-2018 (Composition amended by Council

Resolution adopted on March 24, 2021)

Meetings: As required by the annual performance plan established by the CAO, or at the call

of the Chair

Reports to: City Council, in accordance with the open meeting provisions of the *Municipal Act*,

2001.

Supported by: City Clerk – scheduling, agendas and minutes; Director, Human Resources, shall

serve as a resource to support the Committee's mandate, as required

Committee Structure/Responsibilities:

A primary function of Council is to ensure the accountability and transparency of the operations of the municipality, including the activities of the senior management of the municipality.

Brampton's model of administration follows the *Municipal Act, 2001*, in the establishment of a Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) position as the head of the administrative arm of City government. The CAO is responsible to Council for exercising general control and management of the affairs of the municipality for the purpose of ensuring the efficient and effective operation of the municipality, in accordance with the policies, plans and budget established and approved by Council.

The hiring of the CAO is one of the key responsibilities of Council. The CAO participates in the City's Pay for Performance program. Council is responsible for the evaluation of the performance of the CAO. The CAO Performance Review Committee is responsible for overseeing the annual process on behalf of Council.

The Committee's mandate shall include the following:

- 1. Oversee the process for the establishment of annual goals by the CAO.
- 2. Convene periodic meetings for performance monitoring and feedback discussions with the CAO.
- 3. Oversee the process for the annual performance review of the CAO.
- 4. Recommend to Council Pay for Performance program decisions for the CAO.

Current Members (2018-2022 term)

Chair appointed by Council Resolution C021-2019 (Recommendation CW018-2019). Committee composition amended by Council Resolution adopted on March 24, 2021.

Regional Councillor Fortini (Chair)

Mayor Brown
Regional Councillor Vicente
Regional Councillor Vicente
Regional Councillor Palleschi
City Councillor Whillans
City Councillor Williams
Regional Councillor Medeiros
Regional Councillor Dhillon
City Councillor Bowman
City Councillor Singh