Revised Agenda
MedTech Task Force
The Corporation of the City of Brampton

Meeting #:
  • Deputy Mayor H. Singh (Chair)
  • Dr. Mohamed Lachemi, President, Toronto Metropolitan University (Vice-Chair)
  • Regional Councillor M. Palleschi - Wards 2 and 6
  • Regional Councillor R. Santos - Wards 1 and 5
  • Regional Councillor G. Toor - Wards 9 and 10
  • Dave Casimiro, Managing Director, NorthWest Healthcare Properties REIT
  • Tony Chahine, CEO, Myant Inc.
  • Vito Ciciretto, President and CEO, Dynacare
  • Sheri Dodd, President, Medtronic Canada
  • Jason Field, President and CEO, Life Sciences Ontario
  • Anton Katipunan, Development with RioCan, RioCan
  • Brian Leahy, Director, External Community Relations, Algoma University
  • Dr. Frank Martino, President & CEO, William Osler Health Systems
  • Dr. Dante Morra, Chief of Medical Staff, Trillium Health Partners
  • Dr. Janet Morrison, President & Vice Chancellor, Sheridan College
  • Peter Nikolakakos, Executive Vice President, Development & Planning, First Gulf
  • Carl Rodrigues, CEO, SOTI
  • Ken Spears, General Manager / Vice-President, Boston Scientific Canada
  • Darren Steedman, Vice-President, DG Group
  • Jay Stevens, CEO, The Stevens Company
  • Amy Swanson, Vice-President, MedTech Canada
  • Andreas Wegner, General Manager, Taro Pharmaceuticals 
  • Mahes Wickramasinghe, EVP & Chief Administrative Officer, Rogers
  • Blair Wolk, President, Orlando Corporation
  • David Wyatt, Senior Vice President, Morguard Investments Ltd
  • David Moores, Vice president, Development Engineering, Orlando Corporation





For inquiries about this agenda, or to make arrangements for accessibility accommodations for persons attending (some advance notice may be required), please contact:
Tammi Jackson, Legislative Coordinator, Telephone 905.874.3829, TTY 905.874.2130


Note: Meeting information is also available in alternate formats upon request.

The minutes are draft and have not been considered by Committee of Council or Council and are listed for Committee’s information.

1. MedTech Canada

  • Amy Swanson, VP Ontario 
  • Caroline Ruggier, International Business, AdvaMed 

2. Rowan University (guest)

  • Dr. Ali Asghar Houshmand, President, Rowan University
  • Lee Ann Babin, Rowan University

3. Sheridan College

  • Carol Altilia, Provost and Vice President Academic
  • Sonia Dupte, Vice President Institutional Advancement & External Relations

Note: A video was submitted by the delegation and is available for viewing here

4. Understanding Ontario’s Wet Lab Challenge

  • Scott Rasmussen, Vice President of Leasing & Business Development, McMaster Innovation Park;
  • Bethany Moir, Director, Stakeholder Relations and Strategic Projects. Toronto Global 

5. Fero International 

  • Sabrina Fiorellino, JD, Chieft Executive Officer, Director, Co-Founder
  • Alex Scopacasa, Chief Operating Officer, Co-Founder 

6. Simon Fraser University (Guest Observer)

  • Dr. Joanne Curry, Vice-President, External Relations, Simon Fraser University

Note: A presentation was submitted and published on the City's website on November 20, 2023.

  1. How can the businesses in Brampton support our investment attraction efforts to help build the brand of the City as a MedTech leader (with focus on 2024 MedTech Conference in Toronto)?
  2. How can we help Start Ups (with focus on Brampton Venture Zone firms) in the sector grow in tandem with the new medical school and growth of the hospital?
  3. What are the opportunities for Brampton in response to Ontario’s Wet Lab Challenge?

15 Minute Limit (regarding any decision made at this meeting)

Closing Remarks by Dr. Mohamed Lachemi, President of Toronto Metropolitian University (TMU).

Note: A dinner and networking event (hosted by TMU) for Task Force members and invited guests will be held at Alderlea following the meeting.